Hazel Edwards

“Creativity is the fun of putting
together unexpected ideas”

2011 Astrid Lindgren Award Nominee


Hazel Edwards has been nominated for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2011 for children's and youth literature. 

From the article: "Australians eye richest literary prize"


Four Australians are in the running to win the world's richest children's and youth literary award, worth almost $800,000.

Authors Hazel Edwards, Morris Gleitzman, and author/illustrators Shaun Tan and Robert Ingpen, are among 175 candidates representing 62 countries vying for the prize.

Nominated by expert organisations across the globe, the candidates were announced at the Frankfurt Book Fair by the chairman of the jury, Larry Lempert, on Monday.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was created by the Swedish government in 2002 to honour the Swedish creator of numerous popular fiction characters including Pippi Longstocking.

It is the world's richest literary award for writers of books for children and young people, and one of the best-endowed of all literary awards.

For more information on the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award click through to the 2011 Nominations Listing


Latest News

Stay connected with Hazel!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Events & Appearances 2019

1st Fri each month   PROV 10-1pm  Masterclass: Finishing Book-Length Non Fiction.

2019 ( booking & info here)  

View all Events & Appearances

2019 PROV Master Class  starts Jan 4th


6th PROV


4th PROV

10 th   7.30pm PROV  Book Launch of Darren Arnott's  ' No Regard for the Truth'

26/27th  Forensic Medicine, Hawthorn.

29th YABBA Awards  Camberwell Girls Grammar.


1st PROV

2/3rd  Forensic Medicine, Hawthorn

Nov  10th  2-5pm  Non- Boring Writing Workshop, Hawthorn 

Nov 15th   10.00-1pm Geelong 'Word for Word' Festival  'Writing a Non Boring Family History or Memoir' 


6th PROV